The Taxpayer Revolt

This year is going to be tough on everyone.  To make matters worse, this year, the state of California is going to be issuing IOUs instead of refund checks because they are broke. I rely on the money back from the state to offset the money I owe to the IRS.  You think the IRS will take my California IOU?

I know I shouldn’t be loaning the government money all year and expect a refund.  However, my wife works as a 1099 consultant, and normally, I end up owing about $1,000 to the IRS, so it all evens out.  A friend of mine has an accountant and does the same thing, so I don’t think I’m too far off.

So now, instead of a net zero situation or owing $1,000, I’m going to have to put almost $3,000 out of my pocket to the Federal Government, and hope that my IOU from the state gets fulfilled.  That’s exactly the kind of extra burden I need this year.  Thanks a lot, Arnold.

How many people across the country are in the same situation?  How many other people are strapped for cash and now will have to go further into debt to pay off these unexpected taxes?

An even bigger problem with the whole system is that my taxes are going to fund all these bailouts.  Why should I have to be burdened with thousands of dollars of taxes, when it is going to something I do not believe in?  It’s not just me either.  The majority of the population is against the bailouts, yet we all keep having to pay into the system.

At what point are we going to have enough?  It’s one thing to pay taxes that go to your local school or to a state project where you will see the direct benefit of the taxes.  It’s another when your tax dollars were donated to big banks and no one has any idea of where it went.

A main reason of the American Revolution was “no taxation without representation.”  Could this be any more true in the current environment?  The American Public is saying one thing, but the government is acting on its own.  At what point do we say that enough is enough?

It won’t take a whole lot more government intervention to make the current situation a lot worse.  At what point will the American Taxpayer start to revolt?  When will be our Boston Tea Party?  At this point in time, the last thing we need is the government wasting our tax dollars.  They would be much better served staying in our pockets so we can pay off debts or buy more things to support our economy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

